“You ate 50 wings?!” A new alternative to vegetarianism

20 Jun

I was vegetarian for 6 years, and I started eating meat again last summer in preparation for my placement in Botswana. This is something I’ve been feeling pretty guilty about. So, thank you to Lucy for showing me this video (Check out her post on Guilty Eating). Nafis also wrote about The Meat-Lovers Dilemma awhile back too.

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/graham_hill_weekday_vegetarian.html

This talk gives some interesting statistics on meat-eating:

  • Meat causes more emissions than all transportation combined
  • The processes of beef use 100x more water than vegetables

 So, why does our society eat so much meat? Because it tastes good and it’s easy! It is absolutely disgusting that someone can go to a bar and be proud of the fact that they inhaled 50 wings. Think of the physical and environmental health a habit like that can take. Umm, ew!

In this video, Graham Hill suggests a new solution to being just a “meat-eater” or just a “vegetarian” : a weekday vegetarian. The concept is simple – vegetarian on weekdays, whatever you want on weekends. I am now committing myself to this idea (with a slight alteration: 2 days a week for meat, not necessarily weekends). I ate fish for lunch, so there’s one.

What are your meat-eating habits? What are your reasons for being a vegan, vegetarian, pescetarian, meatitarian, or any other “arian”? 

7 Responses to ““You ate 50 wings?!” A new alternative to vegetarianism”

  1. Colin Whelan July 16, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    I eat meat because it tastes good, but 50 wings is an excessive amount. I think that as long there is a healthy blend of fruits, vegetables, and meat; all will be well. For humans meat is pretty essential. while you can live without for sure humans have evolved to eat meat, and before we ate meat we were vegetarian. Since we have evolved to not eat veggies so much and eat meat instead, I think we just go with what comes naturally.

    • kylamckee July 16, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      Thanks for your post Colin. It is a good point that meat-eating played a huge part in human evolution – many scientists attribute it to our intelligence and success as a species. Do you think that there is a problem however with the meat-eating culture of our society?

  2. Conor M. July 16, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    I love eating meat and I don’t think that there is anything wrong with it. A lot of animals are treated properly before they are killed to be eaten. Plus, humans eating meat is the natural order of things. So, pig out on some bacon, friends!

  3. Sharyn June 21, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Kyla: Interesting blog. I am happy that you are eating meat again. It is much easier for family dinners! I also think that it is difficult for students to get a balanced diet without eating meat. To eat a proper veg diet, you need to be cooking your own meals and really pay attention to your protein intake.

    In North America we can certainly all cut down on the amount of meat eaten. Portion sizes are out of control in most homes and certainly at restaurants. Banning 50 wing serving sizes would go a long way to decrease the amount of meat consumedt!

    • kylamckee June 22, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      Being a “healthy” vegetarian is definitely a concern for all vegetarians and vegans, not just students! I think that this mostly comes down to laziness – pastas and other carbs are just easier, faster, and cheaper to prepare. Well, they are perceived that way. But now that vegetarianism and other dietary needs/restrictions are becoming more common, there are so many options out there to do it in a healthy way! Being vegetarian definitely does not mean that you are restricted to beans and soy anymore. I think that if EVERYONE, not just vegetarians, put more time into preparing and then enjoying their food, then they would eat in a much more healthful way.

  4. Emily KP June 20, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Kyla, just have to say that I love your blog; you are very informative in your discussions and are always seeking opinions and knowledge, it’s very refreshing. So when I saw this post I was very excited to read and respond! I’m a vegetarian and have been one for about 11 years now. It started with me copying the eating habits of my cool older step sister at the time, but once I started learning about the reasons why people became vegetarian, I was committed to sticking with it due to the following:

    1) I love all animals and don’t understand the idea of choosing some over others to eat so therefore I eat none.
    2) Factory farm mass meat production is not only cruel to the animals but produces nasty meats full of hormones and the like.
    3) The environmental impact from mass meat production is just insane.
    4) I really just don’t like the taste or texture!

    I think that the weekday vegetarian is a great diet and commitment to make! I am often asked if I’m okay with people eating meat around me or if their food habits upset me. They obviously don’t because if I were to start telling people to stop eating around me well then my meals would become very lonely. If people like eating meat then I support it; I always have said that if you like something, then enjoy it. But I do try to educate others that eating meat every day 3x a day is not exactly the best idea for your body. I also try to encourage supporting local farms for buying meat from because then at least you can enjoy your meat without the hormones or excess fat and you can actually talk to the farmer!

    Overall, I love being a vegetarian. I don’t really see myself as one anymore because it’s just the diet I follow, but everyone once in a while I’m challenged with my choices. I think it’s important for people to eat what they like but like they say, everything in moderation. The weekday vegetarian diet is a great solution for people looking to cut some meat out of their lives. Hope this post helps with your grades!:)

    • kylamckee June 22, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      You brought up a lot of good points that I didn’t touch on – especially all the hormones and antibiotics that end up in our food.

      The importance of people eating what they like is so crucial – everyone likes having choice. But, it’s disgusting when people’s choice is more than an entire day’s worth of meat in one sitting, which is such a major problem in our society. Unfortunately, people like this will likely never be convinced to be vegetarian. I love the idea of a weekday vegetarian for these people, because it seems more “user-friendly”.

      I think that when I return from Botswana, I will take up “flexitarianism” – when I cook for myself and make my own food decisions I will not eat meat, but when I am a guest in someone’s home I will be flexible and eat what they serve.

      Thanks for the comment Emily, and be sure to tell all your meat-eating friends about the other dietary options they have!

Leave a Reply

