Maun, Kasane and Victoria Falls

20 Nov

Last week I took some leave days, and finally did some tourism! After my meeting with my school coordinator, supervisor and WUSC Botswana’s coordinator, we headed up to Shakawe then to Maun.

While in Maun, I stayed at a nice little lodge on the river that is a hotspot for tourists and locals wanting a drink. While Heather, Kelsey and I were lounging by the pool we heard a hippo grunt – it sounded suuuuuper close! We went to go look for it, and it was within 20 meters of us. Hippos like to spend most of their time underwater, so we lucked out when it came really far out to eat some dinner. Image

I also went on a horseback safari, which was really cool! All of the animals were in an enclosure, and there were no animals that would hurt or spook the horses, but I saw plenty of giraffes, impala, kudu and some zebras. We were able to get ready close to the animals, and it was great to be on a horse for the first time in a looong time! Below is one of the pictures I got of a giraffe in the park. Image

My friend Julia met me on Thursday in Maun, and Friday we traveled to Kasane. We met some fellow travelers and had an amazing dinner at an Indian restaurant. Saturday we woke up early for a game drive at Chobe National Park where we saw lots of elephants, buffalo, baboons, impala, some giraffes, a leopard (barely since he was hiding in a tree) and 2 lionesses. The lions were wonderful because they were hunting and we saw them stalking a herd of buffalo. I was hoping we would get to see a kill, but no such luck! We spent the day lounging poolside at a resort, then went on a sunset boat cruise. The boat cruise (through Chobe National Park) was truly amazing, and we were able to get really close to hippos and elephants. Here are a couple of pictures from Chobe. Image

Image

Image

Image

Sunday we went on a day trip to Victoria Falls. And (big surprise) they really are beautiful. Since the rains haven’t really come yet this year, the falls were fairly dry and we were able to get a unique view. Instead of the roaring falls that drench you when you see them, we got to see a subtler beauty. I really wanted to go in the Devil’s Pool, but unfortunately that is on the Zambia side of the falls so I didn’t get the chance… this time. I would also love to go rafting there and see more of Zimbabwe, so I guess I will just have to again sometime! Most of my pictures of Victoria Falls are on Julia’s camera, but I will get those soon.

Overall, it was an amazing weekend, and I am even more in love with Botswana and Southern Africa.

5 Responses to “Maun, Kasane and Victoria Falls”

  1. Marina Whelan December 1, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Hey Kyla! What a fantastic adventure – such a great experience! We shovelled a foot of snow last week – I’m kind of feeling like it would be nice to closer to the equator right now! Were you in the safety of a truck when you took those wildlife shots? Take good care – live large!
    Auntie Marina

    • kylamckee December 3, 2012 at 1:34 am #

      Thanks Meanie! And yeah, you stay in the truck during the game drives haha 🙂

  2. marnie rice November 20, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Kyla- So glad you’re having such wonderful adventures! The pictures were great– esoecially the lioness! I’m enjoying your adventures vicariously– But then again, we’re having our own adventures here with Brody!
    Love
    Aunt Marnie

    • kylamckee November 21, 2012 at 1:21 am #

      Hey Marnie – yeah it is wonderful here! I love seeing the pictures of Brody, and I can’t wait to meet him! He is going to be so BIG by the time I’m home though!

  3. chrisknox155 November 20, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Reblogged this on Great blogs and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

Leave a Reply

