Being Lekoa in Botswana

14 Dec

I am Irish-Canadian, very pale and have light brown hair that’s highlighted blonde by the sun. I am very obviously “lekoa” (white) and stick out a lot here in Botswana. I spent a summer in Guatemala where I also obviously stood out, but I wasn’t there long enough to truly appreciate what it’s like to be a minority, and specifically what it’s like to be white in a predominantly non-white developing country.

First and foremost, being white attracts far more attention than I’m used to, particularly from men. I have never walked into bar here and not been hit on, I am constantly whistled at when I’m walking, and I have even had men pet me.

To read the rest of this post, please go here

One Response to “Being Lekoa in Botswana”

  1. marnie rice December 21, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Kyla- Sounds very similar to what I experienced travelling with Greg 40 years ago in Iran! Have a wonderful Christmas with your mom & Colin!
    Love
    The Rice family

Leave a Reply

