Holidays and Beyond

23 Jan

Hello dear readers, I’m sorry I have gotten lazy with my blogging! Here is a quick update of my holiday season:

My lovely mother and brother came over to visit and we had a wonderful time in South Africa! We met in Johannesburg, where the first thing my mom said was “You’re so tan!” We were only there for one night and just spent our time catching up before we flew to Port Elizabeth then headed to a game reserve. We spent 4 days there and I managed to complete seeing the African Big 5! My mom and Colin also got to see 4 out of 5 and are just missing the leopard, which I was fortunate enough to see at Chobe National Park in Botswana. Here are some of our pictures from our game drives.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Next we spent Christmas Day in Port Elizabeth and got to open all of our gifts with Conor and dad over the phone – not quite the same! We definitely missed not all being together. Boxing Day we flew to Cape Town and had an amazing time there before saying goodbye on the 1st. Some highlights of Cape Town were going to Robben Island, a great wine tour, the wonderful restaurants and ringing in the New Year on Long St.!

I am happy to be back in Botswana, and I realized that it is starting to feel a little more like home here. Even when my flight was delayed in Cape Town, I just felt more comfortable chatting with Batswana on my flight over drinks than I did with locals in South Africa. I’m not going to lie though – going back to bucket bathing with cold water really sucked after all the luxury!!

Now I’m back to work and back to the same routine 🙂 I’m missing my friends scattered around the world and my family back home (especially my cousins who recently welcomed a new addition to the family!) and it’s a bittersweet thought that I only have about 3 months left here.

BONUS: Check out this Christmas Staycation video – I promise it’s worth it!

One Response to “Holidays and Beyond”

  1. marnie rice January 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    Kyla- So good to hear from you! I got a good laugh out of your dad Conor’s “staycation” video! And glad you had a great vacation– sounds like your mom & Colin did too. Won’t be long until you’re home! Stay safe
    Love
    Aunt Marnie

Leave a Reply

