Namibia Part 2: Swakopmund and Karaoke

8 Mar

So Swakopmund was amazing and is probably one of my favourite places ever.

First off, it is on the coast and the ocean is just always beautiful and that means that there is fresh seafood. Secondly, there are absolutely amazing sand dunes.

Our first full day we went to Walvis Bay which was beautiful but there wasn’t a ton to see. We went back to Swakopmund for a delicious lunch and a little cafe and spent our afternoon shopping. I have bought some beautiful and unique artwork and serving dishes for the house I don’t have.

Then we went for dinner at the end of the jetty. It was super windy and I was actually cold for the first time in a long time!! The restaurant was kind of fancy but luckily we had all picked that night to wear dresses! We all splurged for delicious sea food dishes and yummy desserts.

The next morning we went sandboarding (with Khoi San Sandboarding, I would definitely recommend them) on the dunes with a great view of the ocean. It was kind of like snowboarding but not as fast and definitely not as cold! Plus instead of a ski lift you walk up huge sand dunes – a work out indeed.

We all had our fair share of wipe outs but it didn’t hurt as much as I though it would. We all also had at least a few successful runs and it was super fun and amazing. Our instructor Eben was really great and let us try the lie-down option as well – it was like using a magic carpet while tobogganing! We all had a wonderful time but were absolutely caked in sand! I think we brought back an entire dune’s worth of sand back to the hostel.

We had enough time to shower before our next adventure though – quad-biking!

We went for 2 hours on 4x4s through the dunes. My bike was having some technical difficulties and kept getting stuck in the sand (I thought it was me but then it happened to the guide too!) so I switched bikes with the guide. And of course, his was manual not automatic, so I got my first lesson on driving an automatic vehicle in the middle of the dunes! It was an incredible experience and the dunes are absolutely breathtaking. Driving the bikes and playing on the dunes was fun too!

Needless to say we were extremely exhausted after those adventures, and were in bed by 9!

After traveling back to Windhoek yesterday, we were craving some fast food and ordered greasy amazing Chinese food. We had made friends with our hostel’s bartender the last time we were here, and he invited us out for karaoke. Kels was too tired but Heather and I went. We made our Namibian friends sing My Heart Will Go On since when they found out we are Canadian they told us they loved Celine Dion. Heather and I then wow’d everyone with our renditions of I Want it That Way and Summer of ’69.

Now we are preparing for our loooooong bus ride to Cape Town but are very excited to get to the coast again and to meet up with Heather’s family.

3 Responses to “Namibia Part 2: Swakopmund and Karaoke”

  1. Evez April 1, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    Swakopmund was great. We just got back from Namibia and I can’t help but looking at all the pictures we took for hours. Might want to check out my blog! 🙂 Happy blogging

    • kylamckee April 5, 2013 at 4:58 am #

      Thanks for reading! I’m glad that you enjoyed it just as much as my friends and I did. And how special for you that you also got to see more of Namibia 🙂

  2. Marnie Rice March 8, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    Kyla- I’m jealous! Sure sounds like fun!
    Aunt Marnie

Leave a Reply

